Illustrating and Inspiration.

I’m very busy in the colouring stage of this super cute children’s book I’m illustrating. I’m going to post more on the process later. I have A LOT to colour over the next few weeks but it’s so enjoyable. I love this stage of injecting colour and when the sketchy world comes to life! I can zone out into this for hours. It feels like you are starting to breathe LIFE  into this idea. 10931364_1576442702597510_4534135186728960862_n So the beginning process in a very quick version for now is something like this: You read the manuscript, come up with lots of ideas, let your mind wander, then you start sketching and coming up with drawings for all of these ideas. You have to let yourself develop through the drawings even if they are ugly (which was initially quite hard for me and my inner-critic because I want everything to be just-so from the get go, luckily I’m evolving.)

nicci_vaughn_illustration

It then becomes intriguing to convey these abstract qualities of things like feelings.  It’s a series of trial and error at this point and has taken a while for things to develop. I find it amazing though how inspiration creeps in from all sorts of places. Like the Dad, kind of looks like my husband (minus his new beard). Interesting how your sub-conscious uses inspiration around you.

10959498_1590981721143608_8460808526222150091_n

Leave a Reply

